Record-breaking night for Bobcat Track and Field

In the fifth home indoor meet of the 2015 season, the Bobcat track and field team set records on both the men’s and women’s side at the Montana State Invitational on Feb. 6. Teams from Montana State, University of Montana, Carroll College and a handful of unaffiliated athletes crowded into the Brick Breeden Fieldhouse on Friday to compete in the non-scoring meet.

On the newly refurbished track in the fieldhouse, both the Bobcat men and women beat out much of the competition, especially in the mid-to-long distance events. For the women, senior Heather Demorest stole the show in the 5,000 meter, setting a new record time of 17:17.25, just edging the old record of 17:17.26. Keely West, Caroline Hardin and Michelle Cline all also qualified for the Big Sky Conference championships in the 5,000-meter. Sophomore Josephine Petruska and senior Iris Hardarson both qualified in the 400-meters, grabbing first and second place, respectively. The highlight for the men was when the distance medley relay team smashed the old record with a time of 9:55.77, well past the old time of 9:58.52. The men also grabbed big wins in the 60-meter, 200-meter and 5,000-meter races.

In the field competition, the Bobcat men and women also were ahead of the pack in most of the events. The women won the high jump, long jump and shot put, thanks to Alisa Gilchrist, Danielle Muri and Kristi VandeBergh, respectively. For the men, Ryan Kropp won the pole vault with a conference qualifying leap of five meters. Jake Mushaben won the long jump and qualified for the conference meet with a seven meter jump and senior Sean Ferriter grabbed his fourth straight win in the weight throw with a heave of 65-03.25.

The Bobcats continue to improve each week in most of the events as they build toward the peaking phase of the indoor season. The team will look to build more momentum next week when the University of Montana returns to town along with Weber State for a double dual on Friday. The field events start at 4 p.m. and the track events kick off at 6 p.m.